Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > The Lounge: Discussion+Review
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-04-2006, 11:52 PM

Default Ask Vulturesrow about life aboard an aircraft carrier...

...and related topics.

My background: Naval Flight Officer (think Goose from Top Gun) with close to 1000 flight hours, most of that in the EA-6B and some hours in a smattering of other aircraft. Ive flown missions over both Iraq and Afghanistan (and I may as well warn you now that I cant talk much about those missions other than in the most generic terms). Im a designated tactics instructor as well. I'll answer any question asked but if I decline to answer one, its not personal, I just cant answer that particular question. I ask that you refrain from asking regarding the political aspects of the military. If you think its a gray area, fire away and Ill probably answer.

PS There are others like me floating around 2+2 but I wont out them right now. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] There is a also an exsubmariner, but I think his cover is blown. [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 07-05-2006, 12:00 AM

Default Re: Ask Vulturesrow about life aboard an aircraft carrier...

Well... I'll bite.

Have you ever killed a man?
Old 07-05-2006, 12:04 AM

No. My primary aircraft does jamming missions. So the chance of me killing a man is pretty small.
Old 07-05-2006, 12:08 AM

How long are you out to sea when you are gone?

How many take-offs and landings go on a day?

Have you ever witnessed any crashes?

What do you miss the most when you're gone?

Is it really loud on deck and do you like your job?

Can you make phone calls home anytime you want?
Old 07-05-2006, 12:10 AM

Have you ever known a gay sailor/airman on the carrier? Did it bother you?

I ask becuase I hear it's more frequent than people think. Sorry that was maybe politics but I think it's more of a personal q.