Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-22-2007, 03:49 PM

Default kinda a newbie here

alright here we go ive got about 6 months of experience playing poker of about 4-5 hours a day, stopped for a few months because of a move to england but now im back in it. ive been playin job type hours along with my other job(military) anyway i feel like im having a hard time learning. i feel like im just doing the same thing and not getting any better or picking up on anything. how do i learn to play certain types of hands in certains positions and circumstances and things like that(big weakpoint). alot of experience or is it just hard for some people to pick up? anyway im about to deploy so there will be no poker for a few months besides the bad live games in the desert. so im gona spend alot of time reading books and reading online and trying to figure this thing out, i have 3 years left in the military and id like to use this time to get better and treat it as a 2nd job type thing. can anyone tell me what types of things helped them big as a beginner, things that really changed the way they think about the game? i am very dedicated and i love this game, even though i get pretty mad about it sometimes, well thanks for any help i get and yes ill be reading all the articles posted for beginners
Old 04-22-2007, 05:03 PM

Default Re: kinda a newbie here

scam people
Old 04-22-2007, 05:05 PM

I can sympathise with your position (same job). I think first of all read as much as you can on this forum. Secondly all the 2+2 books are excellent esp. Theory of Poker, Small Stakes Hold em. Plus Harrington on hold em, at least the first two books.