Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing

Old 11-23-2007, 03:44 PM

Default when to sell GOOG?

This stock just keeps going up...what is your target price? One analyst at credit suisse said 900, but thats a little high IMO.
Old 11-23-2007, 04:50 PM

Default Re: when to sell GOOG?

generally it depends on the reason you entered the stock. When buying its best to have some idea of what price you are willing to sell at in mind.
Old 11-23-2007, 08:41 PM

I'm clueless about analyzing companies, but when I think of a company with a "moat", Google immediately comes to mind. I'm also a programmer guy, so I guess that explains why I'm also interested in what others have to say about its prospects.
Old 11-23-2007, 08:49 PM

As a programmer I would say hold onto Google. Everything I read about their strategies and technology makes me believe that they are quickly becoming a juggernaut on the web in the sense that Microsoft is a juggernaut on the desktop.
Old 11-23-2007, 11:07 PM

[ QUOTE ]
generally it depends on the reason you entered the stock. When buying its best to have some idea of what price you are willing to sell at in mind.

[/ QUOTE ]

This is so true. People always concentrate on their entries but usually disregard their exits. Exits are more important than entries.
Old 11-23-2007, 11:14 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I'm clueless about analyzing companies, but when I think of a company with a "moat", Google immediately comes to mind. I'm also a programmer guy, so I guess that explains why I'm also interested in what others have to say about its prospects.

[/ QUOTE ]

They really don't have a moat and their business model is easy to copy. It used to be that the search engine of choice was Lycos, then Yahoo, then everyone thought AltaVista would rule the world.
Old 11-24-2007, 01:40 AM