Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Televised Poker
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-19-2007, 05:10 PM

Default PHIL GORDON!!!!!!!!!!

Is a douche.

That is all.
Old 02-19-2007, 05:22 PM

Default Re: PHIL GORDON!!!!!!!!!!

why?
Old 02-19-2007, 05:28 PM

After seeing him on PAD and other shows recently (commentating on the Full Tilt equalizer), I cannot believe anyone takes him seriously. His hands shake like a complete newbie when he plays, his grasp of the game seems elementary at best and he seems very defensive and insecure.

I also am astounded people pay money for his books - get SSII, harrington and sklansky - then play. It's cards for crying out loud - not grandmaster level chess.

But IMHO Konik is an even bigger douche.
Old 02-19-2007, 05:30 PM

"But IMHO Konik is an even bigger douche."

I really enjoy his books. His lastest one "The Smart Money: How the World's Best Sports Bettors Beat The Bookies Out of Millions" was very interesting.
Old 02-19-2007, 05:40 PM

Konik - In regards to poker commentating and playing i meant - i know there has been a boom and lots of undeserving people get swept up (see e.g., clonie gowen) - but its still annoying.
Old 02-19-2007, 05:44 PM

[ QUOTE ]
his grasp of the game seems elementary at best

[/ QUOTE ]

I disagree strongly with that.

I don't think a whole lot of Konik's ability, though, especially his willingness to give up tons of ChipEV in order to stay alive.
Old 02-19-2007, 05:53 PM

Just never seen anything that impressed me (either in his commentary or play) - does he play superhigh limits somewhere and win to support himself like a true pro player, does he have some impressive recent wins in big open field tourneys? I mean I am not saying he couldn't be some secret zen master at the game - but, results matter, and even Chad Brown seem way better on that score. Just don't understand where all the love for Phil comes from.