Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:42 PM
kylewa10 kylewa10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: all boots.
Posts: 222
Default Another Ruling Question

Any action out of turn is not binding in this cardroom.


1/2NL. I live straddle UTG, the next two players fold. Next player limps for 2, along with the next player who limps for 2 as I am telling them its 4 to go because of my straddle. First guy puts in his $4 but the second player raises to 27. Can he raise here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2007, 02:24 PM
TacitMike TacitMike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Awkward chic
Posts: 42
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

[ QUOTE ]
Any action out of turn is not binding in this cardroom.

[/ QUOTE ]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2007, 02:37 PM
psandman psandman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 2,346
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

No there hasn't been any out of turn action. When the first player put in $2 that constituted a call, the action was now on the next player and when he put in $2 that constituted a call. he may not now raise.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2007, 03:22 PM
Rick Nebiolo Rick Nebiolo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,634
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

[ QUOTE ]
No there hasn't been any out of turn action. When the first player put in $2 that constituted a call, the action was now on the next player and when he put in $2 that constituted a call. he may not now raise.

[/ QUOTE ]

Agree. Both bets would be corrected to $4 since there wasn't a gross misunderstanding of the amount of a proper call and putting out $2 indicates an intent to limp. The fact that the straddler brought attention to the mistake ASAP seals it.

~ Rick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2007, 09:43 PM
Al_Capone_Junior Al_Capone_Junior is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: utility muffin research kitchen
Posts: 5,766
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

I also agree. Any out of turn action not being binding in this room is irrelevant. He called. The amounts were slightly wrong, but this is far from a gross misunderstanding and would not be good enough reason to allow him to reconsider.

Al
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2007, 10:05 PM
RR RR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: on-line
Posts: 5,113
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

[ QUOTE ]
I also agree. Any out of turn action not being binding in this room is irrelevant. He called. The amounts were slightly wrong, but this is far from a gross misunderstanding and would not be good enough reason to allow him to reconsider.

Al

[/ QUOTE ]

Just to clarify something that I am sure both you and Rick are aware of you that neither of you said. A gross misunderstanding of the action cannot occur preflop when there has been no raise. Missing a kill or straddle is not the same as not noticing a raise.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:12 AM
klezmaniac klezmaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 69
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
I also agree. Any out of turn action not being binding in this room is irrelevant. He called. The amounts were slightly wrong, but this is far from a gross misunderstanding and would not be good enough reason to allow him to reconsider.

Al

[/ QUOTE ]

Just to clarify something that I am sure both you and Rick are aware of you that neither of you said. A gross misunderstanding of the action cannot occur preflop when there has been no raise. Missing a kill or straddle is not the same as not noticing a raise.

[/ QUOTE ]

Do you mean by this that neither player, now realizing there is a straddle, can elect to fold instead of limp?

--klez
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:20 AM
dbldwnblue dbldwnblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

my cardroom is much more laid back than most. We do allow a player that "didnt notice it was a straddle" to pull back his undercall and muck his cards.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:08 AM
RR RR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: on-line
Posts: 5,113
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
I also agree. Any out of turn action not being binding in this room is irrelevant. He called. The amounts were slightly wrong, but this is far from a gross misunderstanding and would not be good enough reason to allow him to reconsider.

Al

[/ QUOTE ]

Just to clarify something that I am sure both you and Rick are aware of you that neither of you said. A gross misunderstanding of the action cannot occur preflop when there has been no raise. Missing a kill or straddle is not the same as not noticing a raise.

[/ QUOTE ]

Do you mean by this that neither player, now realizing there is a straddle, can elect to fold instead of limp?

--klez

[/ QUOTE ]

That is correct. If they don't notice a raise they can pull back a bet and fold if there is no action behind. A straddle is not a raise.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2007, 03:22 AM
psandman psandman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vegas
Posts: 2,346
Default Re: Another Ruling Question

[ QUOTE ]
my cardroom is much more laid back than most. We do allow a player that "didnt notice it was a straddle" to pull back his undercall and muck his cards.

[/ QUOTE ]

Oddly enough i can't think of any reason a player would want to limp only if there was no straddle, but fold if there was a straddle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.