Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-12-2006, 11:37 PM

Default Live 5/10 hand vs good player

(This is crossposted from small stakes forum, as I am told it belongs here.) Blinds are 5/10. I have about $750 at this time I think, and villain has me covered.

I am new to NL and trying to learn how to play well. A player who seems good so far is 3 off the button and raises to 30. (I later found out he was a 2+2er.) I call in the SB with 7 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img].

Flop is 9 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7 [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] 3 [img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]. I check, he bets 50 and I call. (My thinking: I am hoping to stack him if he has an overpair, and I'd like to give him a chance to make a pair if he has overcards. I don't think my call is very scary here, since I could easily be calling with a single pair or a straight draw.)

Turn is the 9 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]. I bet 100 and he calls. (My thinking: This is a bad card for me, because he will now check behind any hand without a 9 for fear of facing a check raise. So now I have to lead out and expect him to call with his pocket pairs. I may even get a call from AK/AQ to try to look me up if I am making a move at the pot and see if I am willing to fire another barrel, though I didn't think this was particularly likely.)

River is the 6 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. I bet 250, obviously intending to call if he puts me all-in. (My thinking: I don't think an overpair can fold here, and this is the hand I expect him to have based on the action so far. If he happens to have A9 or T8 or 66 or 33, hopefully he pushes. If he happens to have 99 or 97 or 96, it just wasn't my day.)
Old 08-13-2006, 01:05 AM

Default Re: Live 5/10 hand vs good player