Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Software
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2007, 04:31 AM
jukofyork jukofyork is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, UK.
Posts: 2,551
Default Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

I thought I had better make a new thread about this as perhaps people won't notice the posts in the other thread (see here).

It turns out that nearly all of the CPU spikes, chugs, etc, comes from the scrolling "PartyBets spam-bar" at the bottom of the lobby. We should all thank Tankjoo for noticing this!

After a bit of fiddling about I managed to find a windows message to turn it off and when it's off idle CPU usage is back to under 1%! Here is the AHK script:

<font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>; PartyBets scrolling-spam killer
; ===============================
; Simply run this app to kill the CPU hogging PartyBets scrolling-spam bar.
; - CPU usage on my machine goes from 5%-25% spikes right down to constant 0%-1%!
; - Must be logged in for it to work (not sure why?).

SetTitleMatchMode 2

; Kill PartyBets spam window (WM_COMMAND = 0x111, ID_EXIT=2126).
PostMessage, 0x111 , 2126, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, Poker Lobby
</pre><hr />
Basically just run the script after you have logged in and the PartyBets bar will quit (and leave a white rectangle where it was before).

Juk [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

PS: Perhaps somebody can add my code into the DeMonster AHK script?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2007, 05:03 AM
jason403 jason403 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 3
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

Wow, this is amazing. I was worried about my computer, buying more RAM, and getting ready to buy a new laptop because between running Party with Pokertracker and Spadeye, my computer would run so slowly, having some lag and freezing up at times. Thanks so much for posting the script.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2007, 05:10 AM
jukofyork jukofyork is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, UK.
Posts: 2,551
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

[ QUOTE ]
Wow, this is amazing. I was worried about my computer, buying more RAM, and getting ready to buy a new laptop because between running Party with Pokertracker and Spadeye, my computer would run so slowly, having some lag and freezing up at times. Thanks so much for posting the script.

[/ QUOTE ]
NP, but it's really Tankjoo who needs the thanks! I doubt I'd have ever noticed the link between CPU spikes and the PartyBets messages scrolling.

Juk [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

PS: I've also made an X-POST in the "Computer Technical Help" forum, as others may be considering getting a new PC just to try to avoid the chugs that this was causing (I was too...).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2007, 06:03 AM
Herrigel Herrigel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 624
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

great!
thx juk + Tankjoo, this helps a *lot* and saves me money.
no need for upgrading my machine anymore [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2007, 06:19 AM
HighSteaks HighSteaks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 658
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

Bah, I can't get the scrpit to layout on a notepad properly, never had this happen, any ideas? Also. does this apply to the News and Events scrollbar on Empire and will this get rid of that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2007, 06:23 AM
Herrigel Herrigel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 624
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

[ QUOTE ]
Bah, I can't get the scrpit to layout on a notepad properly, never had this happen, any ideas? Also. does this apply to the News and Events scrollbar on Empire and will this get rid of that?

[/ QUOTE ]
Try replying to Juk's post by pressing the "quote" button, copy/paste from there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:02 AM
jukofyork jukofyork is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, UK.
Posts: 2,551
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

[ QUOTE ]
Bah, I can't get the scrpit to layout on a notepad properly, never had this happen, any ideas?

[/ QUOTE ]
Yep, as Herrigel said just quote my OP and then copy the text out from the quote into a ".ahk" file.

[ QUOTE ]
Also. does this apply to the News and Events scrollbar on Empire and will this get rid of that?

[/ QUOTE ]
Yes this same method can be used to get rid of them too, but I tested it on them and it didn't seem to make any difference at all to the CPU use. If you want to try then all you need to do is change the number I've highlighted in red for this line of code:

<font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>PostMessage, 0x111 , 2126, 0, Internet Explorer_Server<font color="red">3</font>, Poker Lobby</pre><hr />

Try changing it to 1, 2 or 4 and you should be able to get rid of the other scrolling spam windows.

Juk [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-25-2007, 07:31 AM
asteroid asteroid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vienna /Austria
Posts: 89
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

hi,

i had the same problem as you:

the symbol for the ahk-script doesnt appear in my taskbar,however, it is running nonethe less.i have to start partypoker,log on, and then start the ahk.script.
starting the script and then opening party doesnt work for me,but the other way round is ok.

thx yuk and hope this helps

asteroid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2007, 06:20 AM
HalvSame HalvSame is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 391
Default Re: Party\'s high CPU usage is the fault of \"PartyBets spam-bar\": AHK fix!

Good job!

Don't wanna make a new thread; fix for disappearing buttons after the latest update please?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-25-2007, 12:06 PM
jukofyork jukofyork is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Leeds, UK.
Posts: 2,551
Default Version 3 of the script & an alternative method

Hmmm, well all was going ok for a while, but then somehow Party managed to turn the spam-bar back on and I couldn't seem to turn it off again... While trying to get rid of it I ended up crashing the Party client and haven't been able to repeat the "unkillable" spam-bar again.

I have found lots of new message IDs to get rid of it though and the new script will let you either run before or while Party is running to get rid of the spam-bar:

<font class="small">Code:</font><hr /><pre>; PartyBets scrolling-spam killer v3
; ==================================
; Simply run this app to kill the CPU hogging PartyBets scrolling-spam bar.
; - CPU usage on my machine goes from 5%-25% spikes right down to constant 0%-1%!

#SingleInstance force
DetectHiddenWindows On

SetTitleMatchMode 1

; Kill when we open the script (ie: "kill on run" mode).
KillSpam()

WinWait, PartyAccount Login
WinWaitClose

; ### You might have to increase this value if it fails sometimes. ###
Sleep, 1000

; Kill when we open the party client (ie: "kill on open" mode).
KillSpam()

WinWaitClose, Status
Reload

; Use this function to kill the PartyBets spam window.
; NOTE: Tries lots of differnt IDs which all work.
KillSpam()
{

; We send a WM_COMMAND (0x111) along with one of the IDs that kill the window.
PostMessage, 0x111 , 2126, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 2127, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 2300, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 3610, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 3611, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 6041, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 6042, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 6043, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
PostMessage, 0x111 , 6044, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:

; IDs of 3612 to 3644 also work.
loop, 33
{
ID:=a_index+3611
PostMessage, 0x111 , %ID%, 0, Internet Explorer_Server3, PartyPoker.com:
}

}</pre><hr />

I've also tracked down the offending HTML file and if my script fails to work for you then try this:

1) Navigate to the folder "C:\Program Files\PartyGaming\PartyPoker\Language\en_US\articl es\" (might be different for different countries, etc).
2) Right click the file called "114276.html" (the biggest of the ".html" files - it could be named differently for you) and open it up notepad or wordpad.
3) Delete the entire contents of the file and save the empty file back over the top of the old one.
4) Right click on the file again and select Properties.
5) Check the box that says "Read-only".
6) Start the Party client and the spam-bar should be gone.

If this works for you then it might turn out that Party changes the name of this ".html" file periodically, so you might have to repeat if this happens.

Juk [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

PS: You can do the same HTML trick on the other two ".html" file to get rid of the other less troublesome spam windows ("News &amp; Events", etc) too if you want...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.