Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-21-2007, 05:17 PM

Default Dow Theory Confirmed SELL signal today

As I have said in the past that I am not a big proponent of the Dow Theory(IMO I feel it is WAAAAY too late of a signal)

There have been many posters discussing the DOW THEORY of late.......and with todays avalanche type close (after attempting to once again rally) a SELL SIGNAL was confirmed as NEW lows in the DJ Industrials and Transports were BOTH confirmed simultaneously

Any thoughts guys?

Stephen
Old 11-21-2007, 07:42 PM

Default Re: Dow Theory Confirmed SELL signal today

awesome theory when you know to sell when everything is just begining to look cheap. All im gonna say is I wish bought more sp puts back in october. I sold them though and am gonna rebuy before the next fed meeting as I really feel they will not cut rates. When that happens get ready for 300 pt drop. Ill either do it the day before the meeting or into the next rally.
Old 11-21-2007, 08:10 PM

If its a sell theory today, thats hilarious. Wouldn't that put your net gain for the year at 0%?
Old 11-21-2007, 08:16 PM

Year ain't over yet. A short position may pay off nicely by Dec 31.
Old 11-21-2007, 08:44 PM

[ QUOTE ]
If its a sell theory today, thats hilarious. Wouldn't that put your net gain for the year at 0%?

[/ QUOTE ]

As of now YES....and thats why IMO I feel the Dow Theory is WAAAAAY too late of a signal.But I also wouldnt be surprised to see some parabolic short covering RALLY into the New Year either at some time in the next few weeks......for more reasons than one [img]/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]

Stephen
Old 11-21-2007, 08:49 PM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

The sell signal is more for insurance so that you don't get caught in a sharp downturn.