Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-04-2007, 12:35 PM

Default Screw it All, I\'m Going Pro

SSNL - I need some support and advice. I love a good trainwreck as much as anyone, but I'm asking folks to treat this thread seriously and try to refrain from mean comments (boohoo etc).

I'm 26, live in Upstate NY, and I work in IT. I went to school for Comp Sci, and now I have a management position at a VoIP company. I make decent scratch (50k+ and fair bennies), but I HATE my job. I don't like it at all. In fact, I'm sick and tired of a desk job in general, and I don't even think I like IT. I got into this because I was always good at math and science, so people told me to go into engineering/technology fields - and what the hell do you know about these things at 16 years old (I graduated HS early).

Today I put in my 2 weeks notice, and I'm saying [censored] it all and going pro.

I'm fairly confident in my ability to support myself, and my woman makes about what I do so that will help if things go poorly at the tables for me. I've played a good amount online, but not as much as some of people here. I don't have my PT at work, but I reckon I've played less than a million hands (but certainly hundreds of thousands). I'm pretty sure of my winrate, earning potential, etc. - and I don't believe that playing 4 hours a day is going to burn me out terribly either. I love being able to work when I want, where I want - all the alluring stuff that draws people to this. If I fall flat on my face, well, whatever - I guess I'll have to go get a real job again (should be easily doable).