Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Politics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-31-2007, 06:24 PM

Default I wish I could

Sorry if this sort of thing is frowned upon here, not sure why it would be but w/e. If I was in charge of the country, I would change or attempt to change these things, for the benefit of the USA of course.

Ranked in no order of importance, and of course I could do something about it, but I'm lazy/not rich enough to get into politics, at least now.

1. Abolish the IRS, establish a national sales tax instead. Saves money, streamlines the system and lets people and markets decide where capital is put to best use.

2. Get rid of Social Security. Phase it out, end it immediately somehow, whatever. I'm sick of paying for old people's expenses, and I only contribute a very small amount per year since I don't make a lot. I'm not an expert, but me and other people paying into the system should not be in danger of losing our money. The best idea here is to take out 5-7% (or whatever the % is) of everyone's pay (unless the income tax is gone as in above example), and deposit this into an individual acct. Let me pick from, say 10 (or more, or less, whatever) options, ranging from 90% stocks/10% bonds to the opposite, or something along those lines. This lets people save on their own, sure it's forced (which I'm against) but at least fix the system so people get out what they put in (and then some, with compound interest).

3. Legalize. I don't do drugs, but legalize marijuana. Tax and regulate it. Same with poker. Possibly look into legalizing Heroin/Cocaine and other drugs, with tight regulation. But that's probably a bad idea. Then again cigarettes are pretty damn addictive, and we can use the tax revenue.