Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-26-2007, 06:23 PM

Default Starting An Online Poker Room

I have no plans of actually doing this. What would be the process of starting an online poker room? You would obviously need investors. How much money would it take? The fact is their are online poker rooms and their are some people who have started them and are getting the benefits. What would be the process? lets keep this thread serious
Old 10-26-2007, 10:05 PM

Default Re: Starting An Online Poker Room

1) unlimited starting funds.
2) expertise to get some credibility over security (servers, cash transfers, etc.)
3) unlimited marketing budget
4) patience
5) go back to number 1)

6) ......

7) profit!

As a business owner, i wouldnt invest in an online poker room honnestly. Too much competition and very few ways to stand out from the crowd.
Old 10-26-2007, 10:28 PM

I talked to the manager of one of the Ipoker skins and its actually not as much money to start one as I thought.

He said $500,000 is the absolute minimum and 2-3 million is a better amount to start with. He said its pretty rare that they all together fail but a lot of them are not the insaine cash making ventures that most people believe they are.

I'd assume creating an indendant network like Poker Stars or Party did would require a lot more.

I would almost certainly invest in an online poker room if I knew the owners and management were credible and competant.
Old 10-27-2007, 03:47 AM

I have a great idea for a poker room that i am sure would blow up and be very profitable however i do not have assets or guidance to a team of investors.
Old 10-27-2007, 10:28 AM

You should consider preparing a business plan, you can also just sell the idea and let others execute in the way they prefer.
Old 10-27-2007, 12:05 PM