Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > The Lounge: Discussion+Review
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-30-2007, 05:41 PM

Default girls who play poker - a turn off for guys who don\'t play poker?

lately, it seems that guys that i've met haven't been all that interested in me, ever since i started playing poker. i think it may be because these guys think i'm a degenerate gambler, because they don't understand poker. i just graduated from college and i'm unemployed; i only play poker right now. do you think this is something that a lot of people would not respect?

i'm a really honest and straightforward person, but i think the next time i meet a guy i'm interested in, i'm going to hold off telling him about my poker playing until we get to know each other a little. or maybe i have no choice but to stick with dating fellow poker players.
Old 07-30-2007, 05:46 PM

Default Re: girls who play poker - a turn off for guys who don\'t play poker?

I think this is something that's common to both sexes. How would you expect many girls to react if they met a guy who was a professional poker player and not someone they'd seen on TV? A lot of people don't understand the game and assume you're a degen if that's how you plan to earn your bread.
Old 07-30-2007, 05:57 PM

yeah, that's true, since stereotypically females are more concerned with their partner's profession and financial standing. i can see how a lot of girls would find it a turn off that a guy plays poker for a living, and is not famous for it.
Old 07-30-2007, 07:59 PM

I think most guys are sufficiently shallow that they could care less what you do for a living or whether you even have a job. Or maybe that's not shallow? I don't know.
Old 07-30-2007, 08:45 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I think most guys are sufficiently shallow that they could care less what you do for a living or whether you even have a job. Or maybe that's not shallow? I don't know.

[/ QUOTE ]