Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-22-2007, 08:54 PM

Default I have a job interview tomorrow: Now I need to understand what they do

I am in my first year of law school and am in the process of applying to positions for this summer. Company X is an investment management firm that manages $150B in assets for over 100 investment companies as well as institutions (corporations, universities, trusts, etc.) I have an interview with Company X tomorrow for a summer internship in their legal department. (It's actually a series of five consecutive interviews, which is new to me).

Anyways, I get what the company does as a whole, but was hoping some people could shed some lights on the details.

An excerpt from the job posting:

[ QUOTE ]
The intern will be helping the department in areas such as regulatory reporting and prospectus review, among others. There will be opportunity to work on special projects as needed.

[/ QUOTE ]

I've been googling and researching this specific company as well as the field in general, but I still have some questions that people might have some answers to.

1. What exactly would I be doing day to day?

2. Exactly what type of "regulatory reporting" would be done, and what would my role be?

3. What would the legal department's role be as far as "prospectus review." What are these "special projects likely to be?

4. If they ask me what areas of law I am interested in, what areas of law and what type of classes would cover this?

5. What things should I emphasize or steer clear of during these interviews?

6. Any random advice related to interviews in general or more specifically doing multiple interviews back to back?

7. I always feel like I don't have any real good questions, when they ask if I have any, so what are some good questions to ask without sounding like I had some canned question i don't really care about?