Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Computer Technical Help
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-09-2007, 11:33 PM

Default Getting max performance/speed from my laptop??

While playin poker whenever my pokertracker fires my laptop either freezes or slows down really bad. This use not to happen and is really starting to tick me off. Im not very good with computers but is there anything simple i can do to make my laptop run faster? I have only the programs needed open...and im not sure what processes i can end or what else to do. I have a latitude D610, Intel Pentium M processor 1.6GHz, w/ 504 MB RAM if that helps...
Old 02-12-2007, 12:55 AM

Default Re: Getting max performance/speed from my laptop??

I haven't used it in a long time, but does pokertracker do any indexing of its database? depending on how it stores the info, it may be loading your past history whenever you open it, and that history has now gotten huge. If PT has a way to index or archive its data, i would look into that. You might want to post this in software forum since someone else may have come across it.
Old 02-12-2007, 04:32 PM

Format, Update drivers, install only required software, defrag.
Old 02-12-2007, 05:05 PM

More memory wouldn't hurt if your motherboard supports it. That processor isn't amazing but isn't bad.

You can also try a defrag because maybe when it's trying to read your hand histories they're fragmented throughout your drive.
Old 02-12-2007, 08:09 PM

[ QUOTE ]
504 MB RAM

[/ QUOTE ]

If you have shared video memory you can go into the bios and give the most ram to video you can, typically 128 meg.

If it's not set to the max it can really slow down your computer.
Old 02-12-2007, 10:38 PM

Can you explain this? Seems like the opposite should be true.
Old 02-12-2007, 11:31 PM

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]
504 MB RAM

[/ QUOTE ]