Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > High Stakes MTT
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-16-2007, 12:45 PM

Default Moving up stakes .... Some questions.

Hi guys, Im new to the HSMTT because I am just moving up stakes. For the last year I have been playing $5-$20R MTT's (only on pokerstars though) and have improved my game greatly, as well as my BR [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] So I am now slowly moving up to the $50 / $109 FO's on stars. I would like to ask a few general questions and also observations I have made.

First of all, the field is much softer than I had thought. I figured that when I moved up to say, $100 FO's on stars, I would be playing with crazy good players. I figured it was a field of 500 #1PEN's playing a tournament. However what I have come to realize is that there are many, many losing players (OPR) at these stakes. That aside, the field is much tougher obv.

The only question I can think of at the moment is playing pocket pairs in early position in the early levels (most of these tourneys now start with 3k in chips). I'm having a hard time deciding if the limp / call line is better than the open raise line because I cant really call a reraise oop with my small pair however the limp / call line is so revealing imo.

How do you guys usually play these in the early levels of the $50 - $100 freezouts? -Thanks
Old 08-16-2007, 01:19 PM

Default Re: Moving up stakes .... Some questions.

At the very early (first 3 or so) blind levels, I'll open limp 22-88 from UTG or UTG+1. The blinds are small and there are still enough bad players to give me sufficient implied odds to hit a set. Sure, I may need to fold to a big raise, but that actually doesn't happen very often, since most players aren't going to try to steal the small pot with a marginal hand.