Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-15-2007, 07:17 PM

Default move from full ring to 6 max

I've been playing full ring small stakes limit since i started playing a couple of years ago. I have a decent win rate at 2/4 and 3/6 full ring of about 1bb/100 hands. I've decided to try to make the move to 6 max and am not doing to well after the first 2k hands or so at 2/4. I consider myself fairly strong at concepts like stealing and defending blinds. I know that I don't have too many hands yet, and I know that i haven't been running great. I just thought I should solicit some advice before I get stuck anymore than i already am. I think part of the problem may be that i don't have a good set of stats on 6max players yet.

Has anyone else made the move recently and have any advice? thanks for your help all.
Old 05-15-2007, 07:37 PM

Default Re: move from full ring to 6 max

I am pretty out of the loop regarding how full ring plays these days, but two things that I think are very important in the full-to-6-max transition are blind-stealing and showing hands down. Most likely you're encountering some bad variance, so keep playing for that reason, but also so you can get a better feel of the game (players checkraising the turn with air, 3-betting your raises with K9, etc.). Good luck (post some hands, too).
Old 05-15-2007, 07:49 PM

Has anyone else made the move recently and have any advice? thanks for your help all.

Yes, at slighty lower stakes (1/2) though.

I got absolutely crushed in my first 20k hands, there is so much you need to learn.

Not much I can say really, everything is pretty obvious. Learning it is harder though ^-^

Blind defense is more important, and marginal hands are waaaay more important. And much more variance.
Old 05-15-2007, 07:54 PM

[ QUOTE ]