Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-15-2006, 02:06 AM

Default Basic Stud8 strategy for a HE player

Here's my first post in the Stud8 section. A little background about me because I think it will help with the next part of my post, which is questions about low-limit Stud8 strategy.

I've been playing HE poker for about 2 years, building up a $100 bankroll playing limit 2-4 B&M up to now a relatively good 8-16 player with a bankroll ready to start tackling the 20-40 games. IMO, I'm generally the top 1 or 2 players at my 8-16 tables and so far it's been good. However, I decided to expand my poker horizons and pick up Stud8 and am having the damndest time figuring this game out. The game seems completely different and a lot of HE concepts don't seem to apply. Here's how I view myself as a HE player and where I get most of my overlay playing HE:

Preflop standards: A
Player reading/hand reading: B
Using position: B
Hand protection: B
Dropping weak hands: B
Value betting: B
Stealing: B
Bluffing/Fearlessness: D

But I'm finding that a lot of these skills are not translating over to Stud8. Here's my typical Stud8 game. It's 4-8 limit, $1 ante, $1 bring-in ring game. Typically 6-8 players sitting at the table. If it's limped in, typically 2/3 limp in, if it's raised, maybe 1/3 will go-in. Generally loose and passive, probably typical of low-limit Stud8.