Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-23-2007, 09:13 PM

Default OK, so

I've had this major life decision that I've been oscillating over for a few months. Im still no closer to resolving things, so lets see if OOT can shed some wisdom.

OK, about me. I'm real smart. And I'm unusually creative in terms of research ideas, ways to improve products etc. I've had many amazing people tell me I can write my own book in life. But I'm pretty lazy, and I see a lot of Sklansky and a bit of Anacardo in me. I don't want to be like them. And I'm all too aware that it isn't what you could have done that matters in life, but what you actually do.

And I want to achieve a lot. I'm not sure I have the drive to be Prime Minister, or CEO of a FTSE 100 company (nor maybe the ability), and I dont want a high profile/stress job. But I wouldn't be satisfied making a couple of mil from poker, then semi-retiring, getting by on wits and not really doing anything. Even though I do value leisure and freedom very highly, I admire people who actually go out and do stuff and live life to the fullest.

I've been offered a PhD placement in Econ at the U of Chicago. Its a top 5 program in the world. The faculty is unbelievable. It's almost surely my only opportunity to get into such a top institution. I have to decide whether to accept or not.

I am a curious guy. I ask a lot of questions, and so in some ways it makes sense to utilise what abilites I have for answering them. And even if I were smarter than 99.9% of people, that leaves 6 million people smarter than me, some of them clearly so. Being around them can help me think better and learn, and whatever road I go down in life this will be beneficial, if only for myself.