Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2007, 09:35 AM

Default I just blew my bankroll on blackjack....

Hi guys,

First post here in a while but I need to advice.
Basically I have just blew my $2000 bankroll on blackjack in the space of about 5 minutes of madness, and though I have never done this before I feel like has been coming for a while.
A little background first. I usually play 1/2 NLH multi tables and have been a regular grinder winner over the last year or so. I play about 10 a week online and I am happy to grind up to about $6000 or so they cash out to pay for real life stuff. A couple of months ago I felt for the first time I wasnt getting any buzz from winning. If I lost, even a little, I felt annoyed, but if I won the same amount I felt nothing really- almost like I got used to winning.
Over last couple of months I havent played nearly as much but have been sitting down at big games way above my bankroll and going through huge playing swings. I think even then it was becoming only a negative. If I was up $1k it felt pretty good but if I lost $1k I would feel ill. Im a student and dont have many money issues- dont have much but not many overheads, and I feel sick when I lose a large amount that I could really use in real life.
Anyway, just now after losing about $100 playing silly HU games I went mental and for reasons I cant explain donked $2k on blackjack and lost my whole bankroll. I feel ill again but have no explanation why I did it. I dont like to think I have a gambling problem, and rarely gamble outside poker but what ive done cant be normal.