Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > STT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-28-2007, 03:14 PM

Default $114 AK on the bubble

Villain has a very loose raising range, but is bad and will probably call with a lot of hands that he shouldn't. I think pushing is the only play but I'm not so sure.

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t200 (4 handed) Hand History Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com (Format: 2+2 Forums)

Hero (t4390)
UTG (t5430)
Button (t2200)
SB (t1480)

Preflop: Hero is BB with K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img].
<font color="#CC3333">UTG raises to t600</font>, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, Hero ...
Old 03-28-2007, 03:29 PM

Default Re: $114 AK on the bubble

im not an expert but i would like someone to annalyze how i would play this situation.

i would call the raise since villian is 'bad', you have position on him and if you catch a A or K you put a lot of his deap stack at risk? I'm not sure if this is proper ICM play or not but this is how i would play it, it is probably a big leak in my game.
Also, If you push and he calls with a PP you are a coinflip on the bubble so im not sure how great that is, however you are profitable against any other hand, so since he is 'bad' he will probably call your all in with a wide range of marginal hands.
I dunno, could someone tell me what is wrong with calling then trying to get his stack in after the flop if you catch an A or K? I'm almost afraid to ask and I'm thinking about putting this in the n00b thread.
Old 03-28-2007, 03:36 PM

I'm just calling because of your read. Expecting to be called by much worse hands I would think negates your big stack advantage here simply because you are only slightly above his stack. If he calls wide here and we are usually 60:40 we are losing this hand a fair amount which could likely lead to bubbling.