Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-21-2007, 01:08 AM

Default Buying call options

Can someone briefly discuss how to buy call options. What are the best (cheap) brokerages that allow you to buy options. What are the advantages to buying options vs. common stock. How can you see what options are available for a particular company (using yahoo!finance for example). If the price of an option is $0.35, is that the cost per share that you will buy, or is that the total cost of the option of buying 100 shares? I am a novice investor (with just ~$2k in my cheap online brokerage account), young, and beginning to get more curious about various derivatives. Also I obviously don't really care at this point about losing or making money in the market- at this point I'm just trying to familiarize myself so that in the future I can.....make.....millions.....(ha).
Old 02-21-2007, 01:40 AM

Default Re: Buying call options

Just had a quick lecture of options today(correct me if im wrong anyone)...
-Calls are done on 100 share basis. Prices are per share.
-To simplify say you have call prem. of $5 per share & strike price of $50. Your option will have an expiration date...longer timeframe = ^ volatility = ^ option price.
-Your stock is sitting @ $45. At prices of $50 and above you will exercise the call. (In the money)
-Calls are better for volatile, risky stocks because you can limit downside risk to price of the calls and walk away if stock doesn't get "in the money." If stock plummits all you lose is what you paid for the options.
Old 02-21-2007, 02:10 AM

www.cboe.com
Old 02-21-2007, 03:39 AM

1 word: leverage
Old 02-21-2007, 02:16 AM

[ QUOTE ]
-To simplify say you have call prem. of $5 per share & strike price of $50.
-Your stock is sitting @ $45. At prices of $50 and above you will exercise the call. (In the money)

[/ QUOTE ]