Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-16-2007, 12:39 AM

Default (x-post from BF&I) If you would be so kind...investing, the essentials

This is a crosspost from the BF&I forum. As far as I'm concerned, it doesn't seem to be breaking any OOT rules (YES I HAVE LOOKIN AT THE CHART). My reason to x-post this here is this; there are a lot of intelligent minds here at OOT and I would hate missing any advice from them. This could essentially be a big milestone in my life and I for one want to make sure I get all the necessary information before moving forward. Also, this could also spark interest for other OOTers who were previously uninterested in investing and would otherwise never become interested.

"First let me introduce myself,
I am an upcoming undergraduate sophmore in UCI majoring in business economics. I work extremely hard at whatever I'm interested in. I have essentially supported myself throughout my freshman year playing poker. I would say I put in at least 20 hours a week throughout the entire year. This should show you that once I put my mind into something, I will devote all my energy to it. I am very disciplined and tend to start what I finish. Therefore, whatever advice you give me here, I will put it to full use.

I have no history in investing. I have never bought a stock before and have no clue what hedging or any other business terminology means. Essentially, I am a total noob in stocks and investing. What I plan to do is putting some serious hours for poker during this summer while studying stocks and the art of investing. I plan on going to borders about every other day and soaking up everything I can. By the time summer ends, I want to be adept at choosing the right stocks.