Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Other Gambling Games
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-12-2006, 01:26 AM

Default Luck

I believe it was Hellmuth who said "Poker is 100% skill and 50% luck". He also said that if it weren't luck, he'd win every time.

Since I assume assume a lot of people here play other games -- and even games they know to be -EV -- I have a question about "Luck".

Do any of you believe you can control your luck? Have you ever had a premonition that a hand would win -- or that a bet would win -- even though you "knew" statistically it was a bad wager? Has anyone kept a book on their "dumb luck" bets?

If you play based on intuition, how has it worked out for you? Any stories?
Old 07-12-2006, 02:50 AM

Default Re: Luck

I've been saving up my luck for several years. I've been having bad luck at poker, bridge, backgammon, and blackjack. I've almost got enough luck stored up now to go buy a lotto ticket and cash in big.
Old 07-12-2006, 03:29 AM

sheets - i know you to be a very intelligent and wise poster and a quite informed gambling theorist. are you asking this question b/c you think the responses might be amusing or just b/c of boredom or is there some other motive?

this is actually a very interesting question and im hoping some people will give legitimate responses.
Old 07-12-2006, 03:42 AM

Oh boy. here it goes. The post that's going to pretty much de-value any of my future posts.

I do not believe in "luck" as in some sort of magical force that decides who will win and who will lose.

However, I do believe whole heartedly in intuition. I believe that the universe is literally what we make of it, and if you choose that you want to have a winning experience, you will.