Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-17-2006, 11:39 AM

Default Anyone in the rental property game?

Ive been considering investing in a rental property for a few years now. Even though mortage rates are very low there seems to be no shortages of renters, and no matter what happens to the market, 25 years from now when the house is payed off and im ready to retire the property will be worth much more then it is today.

Im having trouble coming up with a plan since I hear so much mixed advice.
I know someone whos bought there second income property, all they do is go for a cheap house near a college with many bedrooms. The place isnt in great shape, but they really dont care since the students dont and you can rent 6 bedrooms out for $400 each.

Other people have preached the more units the better. Ive seen some houses that have been split into triplexs and it usually means cheap appartments. Cheap appartments can attract undesirable tennents.

Others say get a nice house, charge high rent and look for a good family. The price of the house will atleast double in 25 years. If you can sit back and have them pay off the mortage + a litte extra for repairs you'll have a nice chunck of change at retirement.

Anyone have experience with this? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-17-2006, 11:55 AM

Default Re: Anyone in the rental property game?

I have owned several rental properties. I hated it. the financial aspect was valid, it was the landlord aspect that I struggled with.
One thing I would do differently is not have entry level rentals. I admit I was a sucker for the sob stories and the promise of rent "next week". It helps to be a hardass.
I was also an absentee landlord, living in a different state for some of the time, I had to pay big money for simple repairs that I could have done myself easily.