Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-26-2007, 12:52 AM

Default When do you quit for the night?

I started playing some 1/2 limit couple nights ago and kinda liked it after not playing it for so long and tired of the SNG's. I started out tonight with 40 bucks on two tables and in 1 and half hours I was up 145 dollars on the two for a total of 65.00. Now I know thats not alot of money but thats a a ROI of amlmost 80%, if my IRA gained 20 % in a year id be happy and I have a job so this is just part time fun but I dont mind making a little change doing something I like.
I thought about just quitting and calling it a night but I said im gonna play till 11:45 to make it an even two hours, man I wish I had quit. In a 5 minute span I lost 2 nut straights to full houses on the river, lost an A high flush to a full house on the river then got KK and the other guy had AA. One hour and a half and im up 65 and in 5 minutes ive lost 70 on those hands. I later went on to play another hour and lose 35 more. So my question at what percent ROI do you guys quit or do you play till your tired or say im gonna quit in 3 hours no matter what or what do you do?
Old 10-26-2007, 01:09 AM

Default Re: When do you quit for the night?

I think I can speak for entire forum when I say that ROI isn't applicable to cash games.

I imagine some people quit at certain set times or stop losses, but that's dumb. Legit reasons to quit:

-the game isn't good anymore
-you aren't playing optimally
-you're tired, hungry, etc.

In a cash game it's all one long session.
Old 10-26-2007, 04:31 AM

[ QUOTE ]
-you aren't playing optimally

[/ QUOTE ]

If you aren't playing your best but still have an edge, that's not a reason to quit.

Basically: