Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Community
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2006, 07:04 AM

Default I need a little life advice right now.

So, we are at quite the crossroads here. No one really knows what lies ahead entirely, and everybody desperately wants some answers. I am looking back at the last 3 years, basically since the day I started playing poker and cursing myself that basically I didn't take it serious until 1 year ago, and even since then I never really put in the hours. Well with the clock ticking on the fish pool that is online poker, I really want to try to get in some hours.

This has nothing to do with MTTs, since I basically am a cash game player now, but my whole 2+2 upbringing was in MTT, so I feel most comofortable posting this here.

I am a junior in McGill Unverisity in Montreal, and as a result I should still be able to play online poker even if the whole scene dries up. It will not however, be nearly as good as it was before, and I know that the days of being able to 8 table 5/10 w/ donkeys to my left and right could very well be ending. Over my last 50k hands I'm averaging 800 dollars an hour. It's not sustainable if I play 5/10, but I can definitely pull in 500 an hour at the very least if I 8 table. There is a good chance I will never again in my life have the oppurtunity to make that kind of money... let alone at the tender age of 19.

I feel as though right now, the absolute best thing I could do would be to drop out for this semester, and become a poker machine for the next few months... while I still can. I would stay in Montreal and my apartment-- so I wouldn't lose the social scene of college, but I just wouldn't have to worry about school or other commitments.