Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-03-2007, 08:45 PM

Default Good order of books for novice NLH player?

I've recently decided I'm going to teach my gf how to play nl holdem. She's extremely smart and talented with games in general, but she's a complete novice at poker.

She's going to start reading poker books and I'm not sure what I should start her off with and progress to. What is a good list and progression of books that would be good for someone to read who is going to be learning nlh?

I'm thinking of doing something like this:

1 - Theory of Poker
2 - Harrington v1
3 - Harrington v2
4 - Harrington v3
5 - NLH Theory + Practice

Should I add/remove any other books to this que?
Old 09-03-2007, 09:22 PM

Default Re: Good order of books for novice NLH player?

If tourneys then that looks fine, tho I'd move TOP above HOH and let her start with HOH1

If cash, then PNL bears mention ... and then The Pr0crast Anthology is nice [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 09-03-2007, 09:23 PM

id say go to a book store and read the NL section in supersystems, its the firs thing ive ever read abou NLH and really helped me. Then id say read Theory of poker, then a book 100% dedicated to NLH play.
Old 09-03-2007, 10:03 PM

I'm also having a person self-teach herself. She is equally talented in games and has 145 IQ. Here is the order that I recommend:

1 - No Limit Texas Holdem (beginner series) by Daugherty and McEvoy. Mason gave this a score of 8 out of 10. Even more simple than Getting Started in Holdem.

2 - TOP. Teaches fundamentals well.

3 - HOH I and II. From fullhanded to heads up.

4 - Poker Tournament Formula. Gives appreciation for the importance of position.

5 - Professional Nolimit. Great deepstack theory

6 - NLHTP. Same as above.