Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > The Lounge: Discussion+Review

Old 11-07-2007, 03:05 AM

Default Motorcycles

I just started riding my motorcycle again. I don't have anything interesting to say about it because I'm pretty much a beginner (about 2000 miles).

I do wonder, however, what people have to say about safety issues. It seems to me that every time I hear about a crash, the motorcyclist had a lot to do with it. Speeding, recklessness, etc...

When I ride I always assume I'll be cut off by the car in front of me and that people will be running red lights. And frequently I'm right. Being prepared has, for now, prevented these occurrences from causing trouble for me.

I guess what I'm asking is if people think that the safety issues really do make this a stupid form of recreation, and that despite my caution, I'm just asking for trouble?
Old 11-07-2007, 03:20 AM

Default Re: Motorcycles

i used to really want a motorcycle, but the risk is just so high. even if we assume that motorcyclists get into wrecks w/ the same frequency as drivers (which i doubt is true but idk), they are still far less likely to walk away from the accidents. it seems like if you ride consistently it is only a matter of time before you get into an accident, and if you get into an accident there is a very high risk of death. i've ridden a few times and wouldn't mind joy-riding occasionally, but i don't see myself doing cross country road trips or anything like that.
Old 11-07-2007, 05:11 AM

I'm about at the same level as you, although I haven't ridden mine in months.

The safety thing bugs me too, and sometimes I think to myself that I've had a good run and I should quit when I'm ahead. I purposely limited myself to a bike that can't handle highway speeds for this reason as well.