Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Micro Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-24-2007, 07:59 PM

Default Pooh Bah Post tl;dr

My current downswing is what is inspiring this post from me. This forum talks alot about strategy and when to do this and when to do that. If villain does A then we do B. Of course it also talks about the topic I am going to discuss, but I feel like I should give it a whirl from a personal perspective. Im talking about tilt and what it does to a player.

First lemme give a little background about myself. I have been playing poker for about 5 years or so but never really took it seriously. I thought I did, but I always managed to donk off my money in one way or another. Either it was due to my terrible bankroll management, or it was due to tilt. What is funny is that much more often than not though, the tilt is what lead to the horrible bankroll management.

Fast forward to the last couple of months, I started to really take the game seriously. I put in $300 and started to play NL25. (I could afford more but I wanted to show myself that I could work from the bottom up.) Well obviously I went back to my old ways and I played NL200. Luckily the session went well and I made about 350. This put my roll at 650 and now I forced myself to stick to NL25. No more excuses, just stick to it and work my way up. During NL25, I ran really well but played meh at best. Thankfully to my heater and my willingness to learn, I made about 450 in a few weeks and jumped to NL50.