Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Health and Fitness
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-06-2007, 01:41 PM

Default Ask Parallax about powerlifting

Thought this might be a fun post to generate some discussion on powerlifting, which I don't see too much of on here. I am far from an "elite" level powerlifter, but I enjoy it a lot and thought others might be interested in learning more. If anyone has anything to contribute or wants to ask me something, hop right in.

I used to be more into bodybuilding, but never had the desire to take anabolics and realized that natural bodybuilding is basically pointless. So at that point I started training with a powerlifter at my gym trying to get stronger. I specialize in bench, but plan on deadlifting at my next meet. Anyways, I'd like to see this section of 2+2 have more threads so let us gogogogogo.
Old 07-06-2007, 01:54 PM

Default Re: Ask Parallax about powerlifting

height? weight? max lifts? equipment? diet? typical training strategy?
Old 07-06-2007, 02:29 PM

I'm 5'11", 210 lbs. My current bench max is around 300, but I'm hoping to get 315 by this fall for a meet. I lift raw except for Inzer wrist wraps on the heavy stuff. Bench/squat/deadlift suits seem silly to me, as they are essentially artificial means of lifting the weight. I feel like a lifter should train for at least 4-5 years before considering this gear. At least try to push yourself as far as you can raw before resorting to gear.
Unlike most powerlifters, I actually want women to be attracted to me and don't look like a grizzly bear who swallowed a pony keg.