Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-27-2007, 06:17 PM

Default Tips for reading NLTP

Hi all,

I'm looking for some advice on how I should read NLTP. In my opinion, its approach is quite mathematical (which I like, as I come from a limit poker and master in maths background), but I'm struggling with the following: in a lot of sections, the author makes assumptions like: 'if the chance of your only opponent betting is 30%, you should ...; however, if it's 60% or more, you should ... instead'. How I am supposed to know what my opponents tendencies are? I haven't seen most players I play against online, as I'm new to NL, so therefore, I'm a bit lost when these assumptions are made.

Don't get me wrong, it all makes sense, but usually after reading a section which starts with the given assumption, I don't have a clue what to remember, that is, what I should do against an unknown opponent. I understand the book is focussed on maximizing a players profit, but I am a bit clueless when I don't know how to fill in the prerequisites needed to make a decision as described in certain sections.

Any ideas are very welcome. Thanks guys.
Old 02-27-2007, 06:28 PM

Default Re: Tips for reading NLTP

[ QUOTE ]
How I am supposed to know what my opponents tendencies are? I haven't seen most players I play against online, as I'm new to NL, so therefore, I'm a bit lost when these assumptions are made.

[/ QUOTE ]

I would just get a notebook or set up a file on your computer to take notes on players incase you happen to encounter them again. You can do simple things like see how many hands they played in the past 10 dealt and see how it varied with position.
Old 02-27-2007, 06:33 PM

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]