Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > STT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-11-2007, 04:06 PM

Default My Story + An Offer (HOLY BALLS LONG)

WARNING - If you don't care about my poker story, scroll down to the <font color="red"> OFFER SECTION. </font>

So here it is. A lot of you know my story, my background, how i got started...but for those that don't: here ya go!

I started playing poker around the Moneymaker era, obviously. I was the kid who played with his friends for $5, won the money every time, and would take the money and buy beer with it. My first semester of school, i had won $650 JUST from these small $5-$20 games that we played. However, i was losing money online.

I had never heard of 2p2 at the time. I had never read a Sklansky book. I had never heard of bankroll management. I would deposit $50. Play a $22 SNG. Lose. Throw something. Rinse and repeat. This went on until i lost ~$500. Then, i found 2p2. MY LIFE TOOK A COMPLETE TURN FORTHE BETTER.

A few weeks after discovering this site, i luckboxed my way into winning a $5rebuy on party for $3600. Exactly one week later, i won it again for $5200. Two and four days later, i final tabled it for $1300 and $1100. I had finally built a bankroll.

Then i came across SNGs. Bleh. I would read everything in this forum daily. Gigabet would post some ridiculous article talking about WHOTHEFUCKKNOWS and i would pretend like i understood it. I was gonna be the next big thing!! Fast forward to last year. I worked my way up to the $55s with a $4500 roll. I just failed a class and got a D in another one. I PROCEEDED TO GET HAMMERED. "2+2 STTF ATM" - For those people who benefited from my drunken 1/2 2p2 shenanigans...you're welcome. I drunkenly gave away $1800. WTF. I WAS SOOOO UPSET. Never before had i lost so much money and i felt like a complete waste of life.