Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Full Ring
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-17-2007, 07:29 PM

Default 50NL on Stars - should I skip this level?

I've just started playing cash games properly with a long term goal. Since I started with a low bankroll, I started at 25NL. Been doing quite nicely 6 tabling at this level (I'm not a newbie to poker, just a cash game novice) and now I'm rolled to start bringing in 50NL tables.

400 hands in, I see the players are much tighter, which I expected, but they are also *much* more passive, which is pretty much the opposite of what I thought. More often than not, flops are seen without a single raiser. *Nobody* reraises preflop. After the flop nobody seems to want to get involved at all. Is this normal?

If it is, I can't believe this is anything like 100NL and above (is it?!) so I'm wondering if I'm actually going to learn anything useful. Also, because of the way people play, the earnings potential actually doesn't seem any better than at 25NL (in fact, it's probably worse, and higher variance too) Would it do any harm just sticking to 25NL until I'm rolled for 100NL?
Old 08-17-2007, 07:30 PM

Default Re: 50NL on Stars - should I skip this level?

for some reason i do much better at 100nl than 50nl on FTP
Old 08-17-2007, 07:40 PM

400 hands in?
Old 08-17-2007, 07:54 PM

I would not make such broad assumptions based on 400 hands. Many variables go into this, time of day being one of them. I find that morning vs night play (I am in Australia) makes a big difference.
Old 08-17-2007, 07:59 PM

I'm not so much assuming it as asking if it matches other people's experience or not.
Old 08-17-2007, 08:27 PM

It does not match my experience at FT, Abs, or Party. Many hands are raised. I would not call them passive.