Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-07-2007, 01:49 AM

Default Rate my plans for the future!

Alright, so I'm in my second year of college as a business economics major. So far, I haven't learned anything that I can apply to the real world (yah yah supply and demand, opportunity cost, absolute and comparative advantages blah blah, a lot of abstract ideas and not enough concrete details). Until recently, I had no idea what I was going to do for my future. I guess I was planning on working a cubicle job or something. My grades are okay at best (3.0 gpa) and basically, I'm hitting a fork in the road. In one road, poker fuels my path to financial independence through real estate and stocks. I'll continue to get mediocre grades but excel at poker. The other path I can take is a more stable one I suppose. I minimize poker (or quit altogether) and get serious about school. Try my best to get straight A's and graduate with a 3.5 gpa. Land a corporate job somewhere and enjoy benefits as well as a mediocre salary. I'm actually leaning more towards the first. Heres a basic overview of what I plan for my future:

I play 2/4 and 3/6 and have been a proven winner at those stakes. I can continue playing 30000 hands at a modest projected rate of 2-3ptbb/100. By June, my banrkoll should be at 100k.

I then plan on investing about 50k in various stocks. I know a couple of friends who know the jist of investing so I'll probably ask them for advice. I plan on keeping a diversified portfolio, investing in different sectors of the economy. I've read some Kramer books and his advice seem pretty sound, but I don't know if he's a laughing stock in investing communities.