Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-18-2007, 05:45 AM

Default This is REALLY bad, right?

I'm still learning what this no limit hold em thing is all about. If you guys could help me out a little bit, I would greatly appreciate it.

Is this a good spot for this? Villian is 25/16/16, we haven't been involved in any significant pots together, so I don't have much of a read other than his stats. The size of his flop bet convinced me he was continuing timidly with QQ or KK precisely, and I thought I could move him off either of those with a medium-ish sized raise. By all means, flame away...

PokerStars No-Limit Hold'em, $20 BB (6 handed) Poker-Stars Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com (Format: FlopTurnRiver)

CO ($1970)
Button ($2260)
SB ($5594)
BB ($370)
UTG ($4955.25)
Hero ($2364)

Preflop: Hero is MP with J, J.
[color=#666666]1 fold</font>, [color=#CC3333]Hero raises to $80</font>, [color=#666666]2 folds</font>, [color=#CC3333]SB raises to $255</font>, [color=#666666]1 fold</font>, Hero calls $175.

Flop: ($530) 2, 4, A [color=#0000FF](2 players)</font>
[color=#CC3333]SB bets $325</font>, [color=#CC3333]Hero raises to $1000</font>...
Old 11-18-2007, 05:51 AM

Default Re: This is REALLY bad, right?

if i really didn't believe he had an A i'd way rather, given the board texture, just call the flop and reevaluate turn than do this
Old 11-18-2007, 05:54 AM

it just looks counterproductive with such a vast part of your range when speaking strictly in terms of value

sets you are probably right to call on this flop, as you are with about any ace.
Old 11-18-2007, 06:15 AM

a call accomplishes the same thing imo, only you don't lose your whole stack if he has an ace. that being said, an ace is a big part of his range here.... I prob sigh and muck flop
Old 11-18-2007, 08:19 AM