Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-20-2007, 11:15 PM

Default Investing in Distressed debt

I'm pretty new to investing, but right now seems like it would be a good time to invest in distressed. With the recent crash in sub prime mortages there is plently of it avaible. I'm sure there more to it, but in generall wold now be a good time to invest in it. If yes what would be some good fund to do so in.

I understand that this type of investing, but amount of money I'd be putting up would be pretty insignificant to me. Losing it would not be a big deal. I'm just trying to maximize my ev.
Old 10-21-2007, 02:46 AM

Default Re: Investing in Distressed debt

They are low priced for a reason. A lot of the mortgages are worth absolutely nothing. Good luck trying to figure out which ones are worth something and how much.
Old 10-21-2007, 03:15 AM

[ QUOTE ]
They are low priced for a reason. A lot of the mortgages are worth absolutely nothing. Good luck trying to figure out which ones are worth something and how much.

[/ QUOTE ]

Are you talking about 2nd mortgages? Because almost every first mortgage has significant value. There are almost no homes that can't be sold for significantly more than foreclosure costs. Even a $300k mortgage on a house that can only be sold for $100k is worth $80k, if foreclosure costs are $20k. If the owner continues to make payments, it's worth $300k.
Old 10-21-2007, 11:29 AM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

VERY tough/risky game...even for the Pro's at this time

SF [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 10-21-2007, 04:28 PM

[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]