Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-07-2007, 04:40 AM

Default Cash or SnGs?

Hi All,

I have been playing poker for fun for around 2 - 3 years now and a couple of times have started to get serious by keeping stats using poker tracker etc.

But I have a question that I am interested in what peoples answer would be... so here goes.

Between Cash NLHE and SnGs which would you advise I learn to try and make money and why?

Thanks in advance

Paddy
Old 09-07-2007, 04:50 AM

Default Re: Cash or SnGs?

I think the accepted wisdom is that cash games are most profitable for good players.

Personally, I have won significant amounts in SnGs and I know the reason is that they suit my personality better. I love the fact of a start, middle and end and the changing strategy throughout.

I do play cash games at a profit by find the monotony of one long never-ending games mind-blowing.

My answer to you therefore is the games that suit your personality better. If you like both equally and you are good at both then cash games are the way forward in terms of greater profitability.
Old 09-07-2007, 05:05 AM

In order to be making serious money after a few years it's best to choose cash games because there is more money available at higher limits to keep taking.

This is not the case in higher limit sng's where an ROI of 3% becomes amazing.

However, for a beginner trying to grind up a bankroll, sng's can be safer to start with as a solid but simple approach can yield significant and consistent profit at lwere levels.
Old 09-07-2007, 05:08 AM

Thanks for the answers so far guys. What do you class as a "Higher Limit SnG" ?

And also do many players play both? Realistically is it possible to be good at both?

Laters

Paddy
Old 09-07-2007, 05:28 AM