Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-26-2007, 09:35 PM

Default observing your opponent

I'm just wondering how other players go about making observations on their opponents (betting patterns and tells) Basically how you would go about analyzing a tell or betting pattern and using the information you extracted to play optimally against that opponent. I know the answer seems obvious, you observe and remember. However i am really having trouble with this part of my game.
I know the answer may seem obvious to some but i hope you can look at the situation from my position (been playing under a year) and truly attempt to help me in some way. I'm still learning and i'd really appreciate any suggestions.
Old 02-26-2007, 10:24 PM

Default Re: observing your opponent

[ QUOTE ]
I'm just wondering how other players go about making observations on their opponents (betting patterns and tells)...

[/ QUOTE ]

I'm no great expert at this, but the first advice I'd give is to start out by only trying to do a little bit at a time. Don't try to see into everyone's soul at first--just watch one guy and notice if he's doing something really obvious. Two of the very most obvious betting patterns are coming into too many pots, and raising before the flop too often. If you notice either of these in your next game, great--you've taken your first baby step. If not, be patient and don't try to force tells out that aren't there.

Oh, one other thing--in online play, I sometimes draw a little table diagram with pencil and paper and track how often everyone comes into the pot by making tally marks. Yes, the same thing could be done easier with Poker Ace HUD, but it does wonders for my level of concentration.
Old 02-26-2007, 11:20 PM