Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-06-2007, 01:51 AM

Default Am i lying to myself

Can building a bankroll and playing poker/ betting on sports help prepare me for a life on wall street. I'm a freshman in college and im starting to really devote myself to poker and sports capping with the drawback being less time for school.

But the bankroll management, realizing my limits, dealing with downswings/hot streaks, and ect ect.. can it really help me if say, I aspire to be a trader (fixed income/ securities area)? Or should i play sparingly, stay the fish/square i currently am but instead concentrate on getting my pretty low gpa up. (first semester i got between a 3.2 and a 3.4 but i heard that pretty low compared to other kids who are serious and in the ivies or ross equivalent)
Old 01-06-2007, 03:16 AM

Default Re: Am i lying to myself

If you are able to maintain a 3.2 to 3.4 gpa you have alot of choices in college. Get your degree and then try to play poker professionally. It may not be as romantic but its the smart way to do it.
Old 01-06-2007, 03:23 AM

op,

Of course you are. You are most likely justifying laziness and doing what you like with a deluded notion longer term benefits.

Of course without much greater specifics, no one can provide any advice that does not make massive assumptions but I suspect you just want someone to reinforce your delusions and figure that on 2+2 somehow will make the preferred assumptions.

J
Old 01-06-2007, 05:41 AM

[ QUOTE ]
If you are able to maintain a 3.2 to 3.4 gpa you have alot of choices in college. Get your degree and then try to play poker professionally. It may not be as romantic but its the smart way to do it.

[/ QUOTE ]