Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology

Old 08-18-2007, 02:13 AM

Default poker lifestyle questions, managing your schedule

Just hoping to get some feedback on what all of you do to get a decent amount of hours in each month. When I talk about times in this post I'm talking about PST just so you know.

I do this for a living so I tend to try to have a schedule where I'm playing anywhere from 8 am - 5 PM depending on when I wake up. Usually I'll just try to get 5-6 hours in and then call it a day. I try to play every day but inevitably start taking days off. What sort of schedules do you guys try to keep if any?

Once I get up a certain amount for the month to where at least my bills are payed I tend to get a bit lax on the discipline though and start letting my schedule slip or taking days off and that type of thing. Any of you guys have that problem too?

What I really seem to have a problem with though is when I stay up late the night before or can't sleep and slowly start waking up later and later. Eventually I will start waking up at 3-4 pm at which point I will try and fix my schedule by staying up as long as possible. Then it can REALLY get screwed for at least a couple days (like waking up at 8 pm).

Problem I have with all this is I try not to play when I'm tired first off. Secondly when you wake up at 4 pm and want to do anything for the day you have to do it right away before stores close etc. So if I want to hang with friends/see a movie I have to do all that first. Then I get back and it's like 10 pm and if I want to play poker I have to play until 4-5am or something. Personally I've always hated "working" past midnight and I tend to think the games are worse as well so what usually happens is I just start slacking off until my schedule gets back to normal and I have this huge dead time of 12am-8am.