Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Community
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-05-2007, 02:50 AM

Default Question re Turning Pro - When is Best?

Ok, not entirely sure where this should go, so mods, feel free to move if you like. I'm just posting here since it's where I most often post.

OK, so basically the deal is this. I work as an Admin/Accts clerk at a car dealership. I get a below avg wage. I never completed high school, so essentially, I have no real qualifications, thus my long term earning potential is not exactly fantastic.

I love poker. I've played it *seriously* since basically the start of the year. I'll post my 07 stats for the year at the bottom of this post.

I live at home with my folks. My girlfriend of 4 years also lives with her folks (although in reality, we both split time at each others house). We're pretty much ready to look at get our own home in the early stages of 08.

So my dilemma is this: do I 1) wait until after we've got a home loan etc before I quit my job or 2) quit now & give myself 6 months with low overheads to get up & running & with lower risk if it all goes wrong.

My fears are if I go with option 1 & fail, how do we pay for a home loan and with 2 what the chances are of getting a home loan if I don't have a job other than "professional gambler".

Any advice would be appreciated.

07 stats:
Tournaments played : 850
Total Buy-in : $21449.90
Total Winnings : $45868.90
Total Profit : $24419.00
ROI : 113.8%
Old 08-05-2007, 03:07 AM

Default Re: Question re Turning Pro - When is Best?

Stay in school and use your brain. Be a doctor, be a lawyer, carry a leather briefcase. Forget about poker as a profession. Poker make ya grunt and smell. See, be a thinker, not a stinker.
Old 08-05-2007, 03:12 AM

dont do it unless you have no dependents and few overheads, unless your bankroll is huge for whatever you're playing
Old 08-05-2007, 03:56 AM

[ QUOTE ]