Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-11-2006, 02:18 PM

Default NL MTT, QQ, 2nd Hand

I'm not a tourney player; my regular game is NLHE, cash.
But I just tried entering an online tourney... and I got confused as soon as I started playing.

Ok, 3k in tournament chips, 20-40 blinds. On the second hand of the tourney, I was the big blind. I got Q [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]Q [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. All folded to the SB. SB completed. I made it 160-to-go. SB called.

Flop: [4 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 5 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]]

SB checked. I bet 300T into a 320T pot. SB made it 1020T-to-go.

Questions:
1. Did I make the right flop bet?
2. What should my play be after the SB check-raise?
3. Am I asking very obvious questions?

Thanks!
Old 03-11-2006, 02:24 PM

Default Re: NL MTT, QQ, 2nd Hand

[ QUOTE ]
I'm not a tourney player; my regular game is NLHE, cash.
But I just tried entering an online tourney... and I got confused as soon as I started playing.

Ok, 3k in tournament chips, 20-40 blinds. On the second hand of the tourney, I was the big blind. I got Q [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]Q [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. All folded to the SB. SB completed. I made it 160-to-go. SB called.

Flop: [4 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 5 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] 7 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]]

SB checked. I bet 300T into a 320T pot. SB made it 1020T-to-go.

Questions:
1. Did I make the right flop bet?
2. What should my play be after the SB check-raise?
3. Am I asking very obvious questions?

Thanks!

[/ QUOTE ]

This is a blind battle? That always complicates things.

1. Yes, I like the flop bet and the size. You have an overpair and a draw to the third best flush.