Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Micro Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-22-2007, 07:47 AM

Default What\'s a n00b supposed to do ?

Heya folks,

if this is the wrong forum - Sorry - didn't know where to put it in.

So I'm new to poker. I started to play "seriously" about two months ago. I used to play chess and I was quite good at it but got bored. With poker I think I've found my new game and challenge.

So far I've decided never to put any of my money into the game but I've turned the 5$ "Hello"-shipping from Stars into something like 50$ starting at .02/.04 and then mostly .05/.10 and .10/.20, all FR.

I read and reread my Miller, Hilger, Sklansky, Jones whatever, I've got PTracker and I'm reading the posts here.

Now I'm wondering which is the best way to proceed. Shall I continue to play FR-FL or should I take NL and 6max right
along ? Basically it boils down to this: would the different games broaden my scope on poker in general or do you think I'd only get the varying concepts mixed up ?

I'd really appreciate your feedback.

TIA
Old 08-22-2007, 07:57 AM

Default Re: What\'s a n00b supposed to do ?

I would advise you keep playing where you are until you get a healthy sized sample and can show a reasonable win rate. At that point, learning 6max or nl will probably increase your profit. There's just no good reason I can think of to do that until you are sure that your current game is solid. Good luck.
Old 08-22-2007, 08:04 AM

Well, I've got a sample size of about 8k (yar, I know) hands, winrates .05/.10 and .10/.20 ~5-6BB/100 and as far as the stats go I think I'm a decent player for these limits.

What sample size would you recommend ?

*If* I take NL and 6max, I'd start with .01/.02 NL and .05/.10 6max.
Old 08-22-2007, 08:12 AM

I think that the different games would broaden your hold'em understanding.