Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Health and Fitness
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-17-2007, 02:06 AM

Default Scared of gaining too much fat

OK so I have started to take this bulking thing seriously. I am 5 foot 11, ~144 pounds. About two weeks ago I decided to eat 3000 cals/day (however way I could, I'm not going to clean bulk since I'm a college student) and start doing Rippletoes. So far I have gained around 7 pounds which I am guessing is a LOT (newb gains right?) but I *think* a lot of the mass is going around the stomach area and not the arms/legs, etc. Is this normal? Or will this change once my newb gains end/Rippletoes starts to get intense? I thought I would look normal instead of skinny after doing this bulk but now I am kind of scared that all the gains will be in the stomach area.
Old 11-17-2007, 02:12 AM

Default Re: Scared of gaining too much fat

Lower your caloric surplus.
Old 11-17-2007, 02:40 AM

Welcome to the club fatty.

yeah, seven pounds in a week is a bit much. I'm not sure if there's some kind of water weight gain that occurs mostly in the first week of a bulk (are you taking creatine or increasing water intake?). Perhaps try it one more week and see if the gains are the same? I dunno, it would be a good idea to lower your calories by a couple hundred and see where that puts you.
Old 11-17-2007, 02:58 AM

you are probably getting a carb gut. Trying to gain weight on a hot pocket and cheeto diet is not going to give you the results your looking for. You can eat clean on a budget, and in fact it can be way cheaper. Make good friends with tuna, wheat bread, chicken breasts, and a george foreman grill. Also oats are really cheap, and good to load up on.

At least try to make sure you are getting a decent ammount of protein.
Old 11-17-2007, 05:51 AM

Tuna, lime, mayonnaise, add whatever your favourite vegetables are (tater tots are not a vegetable). Mix. Eat.