Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-24-2007, 03:40 AM

Default On-site corporate finance interview

So i have an onsite interview for a large corporate firm. It is for an entry level finance position. I am looking for advice on how to handle this, this is the final step after the phone interview etc. While i have had on site interviews previously i either have apparantly not handled them perfectly, or am awaiting responses from others so have never been successful.

To give a little background i have a masters degree that i recieved in december, however havent worked in like 3 years bc of poker. The interview is a fairly standard corporate interview process

30mn with hr
1 hr with treasurer
1 hr with guy who would be my boss
1 hr with person who was formerly in this position x2
15m wrapup with hr

Any advice on how to specifically nail this type of interview. Obviously we are past the point of look sharp, look people in the eye etc. Im looking for ideas on how to make an impression, or basically have a solid in person interview for this kind of a position.

Thanks ahead of time oh wise OOT.
Old 04-24-2007, 05:38 AM

Default Re: On-site corporate finance interview

Know your debits/credits - be sure to ask how much accounting you'll be doing (if any) - usually entry level is a lot of P/L smoothing.

Is finance the operation or is it for an operation (industry?)

I got a lot of questions like - why is a manhole round / how many piano tuners are in Chicago / questions that want to see how you think. If you nail those, you're typically in the door.
Old 04-24-2007, 09:07 AM

OP, aside from all the standard prep stuff...