Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-06-2007, 02:16 PM

Default Good time to buy BSC?

I read this about a month back. BSC has dropped another 40 points since then and the price to book value is looking pretty low. I am very new to investing and was looking for some insight. My main investment thesis is a contrarian one where people are overreacting to a setback of an established and strong financial. Help me poke some holes in this buy idea.

As an aside, there is a good article on firing Spector on page 1 of wsj found here It's free.
Old 08-06-2007, 02:28 PM

Default Re: Good time to buy BSC?

Nah.. if anything buy companies like GS rather than BSC.
Old 08-07-2007, 01:42 PM

more commentary and analysis would be much appreciated...
Old 08-07-2007, 07:24 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I read this about a month back. BSC has dropped another 40 points since then and the price to book value is looking pretty low. I am very new to investing and was looking for some insight. My main investment thesis is a contrarian one where people are overreacting to a setback of an established and strong financial. Help me poke some holes in this buy idea.

As an aside, there is a good article on firing Spector on page 1 of wsj found here It's free.

[/ QUOTE ]

What premium to its book value should BSC trade at? What is the likely impact of the present crisis on their mix of businesses? Most insiders seem miffed at the firing of Warren Spector (easily the most respected person from Bear on the street, until now) - what does this reflect and how is this going to affect the company? You should at least try to answer these questions.
Old 08-08-2007, 01:14 AM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

It was an established and strong financial.