Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-11-2006, 12:28 AM

Default Initial Thoughts About Index Funds

Let me restate that I'm a complete novice to investing and stock markets in general, except for the few Economics courses I've taken, so please be kind :P I'm making this post hopefully to make sure my thinking is not flawed, and hopefully get a few suggestions.

After a bit of reading on Index Funds, my understanding is that a Index Fund is basically a mutual fund created by a company that imitates a certain market index. They buy the same proportions as the market index in smaller amounts, thereby creating a mini-market index of whichever they choose, in essence a perfect imitation. The goal of this is to imitate the market perfectly, so they can expect the same yields as said market index.

However, from my initial and not very deep research of this topic, it seems like most of the large indexes normally turned into index funds like the S&P 500 yield a very nominal return. Over the last 3 years it has had a phenomenal yield, but the 2 years before that was a phenomenal loss, making the net yield over the past 5 years about 0%. (I did not go farther than that, just trying to make sure my understanding is correct). However it seems that it's average yield is around 5%, therefore it is a safe long term investment.

Now my question is, why deal with an index fund that has as much variance as that, when banks like ING guarantee 4.15% and longterm bonds guarantee even higher (since we're in it for the longrun with index funds anyway)? Also, a further question is, would index funds be wrong for me if I'm looking for a more high yield high risk type of investment? Should I look more into a mutual fund cosisting of mainly tech, biomed, or any of the more popular booming industries now? Thanks for any and all comments.
Old 05-11-2006, 01:07 AM