Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-09-2006, 07:11 AM

Default Please help, I think I\'ve been wrongly terminated.

First some background: I've been working at the same company happily for 4 years. Then 2 months ago I log onto monster and start getting calls from recruiters. I go on a couple of interviews through a recruiter and he gets me a new job from a company that obviously wants me pretty badly.(companies often pay recruiters about 2 months of a new employees salary) I get a 20% raise to do the same job with a 15 mile (each way no traffic) commute so i decide to give it a shot. I've been working there about 5 weeks, and I had previously booked a trip to hawaii for this week before i started the new job, so I let my boss know and he's cool with it.

One thing, the week before I went on vacation, I was chatting on IM while at work and my boss walked by and let me know he didnt like it. I didnt think anyone would mind since I see other employees on IM all the time. I admit I generally have a tendency to slack off, but my new desk is right next to the entrance so people constantly walk by and see my screen, so I purposely dont slack here. I also made sure I didnt use IM for the rest of the week.

Today I'm in the airport awaiting my flight home and my boss calls me, asks how my vacation was, then proceeds to tell me that he is unhappy with my production not turning in assignments on time and my IMing and its just not working out. I should come in and sign some papers with HR and get my last check.

In my defense, Ive completed completed all tasks assigned in a timely fashion and I have no problem staying off IM, I just think I deserve some kind of warning before I get prematurely fired for something so minute.