Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > High Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-28-2007, 08:03 AM

Default Probability model for AP cheating

This post is addressed to any of the high-stakes players that are convinced cheating took place on AP. Would any of you be interested in trying to transform your thought process which leads from the HHs to your conclusion into some kind of probability model? I am a professional mathematician whose research area is probability theory. I would be willing to work with you on trying to do this.

I have my doubts about the feasibility of this idea, since there are so many assumptions to be made, but I think it is worth at least an initial attempt. See my post here for my initial comments on this subject.

If we focus for the moment on POTRIPPER, then what we need for this model are three things: (1) p_0 = the probability a randomly selected player from among all online players can see hole cards, (2) p_f = the probability that the HHs we have for POTRIPPER would look the way they do if POTRIPPER could not see hole cards, and (3) p_c = the probability that the HHs we have for POTRIPPER would look the way they do if POTRIPPER could see hole cards. According to Bayes Theorem, if these 3 quantities are given, then the probability that POTRIPPER could see hole cards, given the HHs, would be

p_0*p_c/[p_0*p_c + (1 - p_0)*p_f].

What I need from you, if you want to do this, is an estimate of p_f and p_c. That is, I would need you to walk me through the HHs -- once under the assumption there is no cheating and once under the assumption there is cheating -- and estimate all the probabilities of seeing the various actions that POTRIPPER took on the various streets.