Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-16-2007, 02:02 AM

Default how i retooled my game after a downswing

i would first like to state that i am fairly new to poker and have only been playing seriously since april 2007. this is my poohbah post, giving something back to SSNL since it has helped me alot.

i thought myself a great player. i had a pretty good winrate and i was happy with my game.

By sh58

i moved up to NL200, and after a good start, this happens...

By sh58

i went on holiday for a month, moved down to NL100 and started playing again. i was really experimenting with my postflop game. i was bluffraising in spots i had never tried before, valuebetting hands i would usually c/f, double barelling everyone, and triple barelling some people. by doing these things,and by really thinking about the game, i came up with many new ideas about how to maximise my winnings. these things will probaby be second nature to many of the people in SSNL but really weren't for me at the time.

anyway, here are my stats post downswing, til present

By sh58

so as you can see from the stats, i am playing almost the same preflop game as before (i think me and everyone else worries too much about this part of the game) although i changed from a 22/17 to a 21/18 but that is hardly a big difference. the real difference is postflop.

my agression factor has risen quite a bit. overall it is more than 1 unit higher than it was before. because of this i went showdown less often and my W@SD decreased as i am bet/folding more than check/calling (more about that later). also note how my W$WSF has increased from 40% to 44% which is a pretty big jump.